Morning porridge

2 May

I’ve just been reading Terry Durack’s piece about “daggy food”  being the latest food fad…and had to pipe in with my two kuai’s worth, particularly when I read that someone called oatmeal/porridge daggy.
At the moment we’re eating porridge quite often. We may not when summer comes around, but for the cold winter months it’s warmed us from the inside out. It was probably my Mum’s delicious winter porridges filled with dried and fresh fruit that made me such a big fan of this breakfast. One of my enduring memories of my Grandma was of her teaching me to eat the porridge at the edge of the bowl before the middle part – that way it would always be cooler and I wouldn’t burn my tongue.

I actually look forward to it when I’m going to bed the night before. That could be a tragic confession.

Anyway, we thought we’d post a blog to our delicious everyday morning porridge/oatmeal.

About 1 to 1.5 cups oatmeal. I’ve used many brands here in Beijing. Quaker, Chinese brands, and have now settled on Australian-produced oats and I think they are also quick-cook.

Half a frozen banana, defrosted. Since learning the hard way that bananas seem to go off very quickly here, I chop them in half and pop them in the freezer. Sure, they may not look pretty, but it’s going to be mushed up anyway.

Half a handful of sultanas.

Half a handful of Chinese dates (jujubes), cut in half and stones taken out if you can be bothered.

Quarter of a cup of milk, and just under three quarters of a cup of water.

Optional extras: Cinnamon, chopped/grated pear or apple, chopped dried apricots, fruit compote on the top.

Mix all the above ingredients into a saucepan on the gas stovetop. Stir every 30 seconds to a minute to prevent it from burning. Don’t worry – it only takes about 5 minutes to cook, you won’t be at the stove all morning. Once the water has soaked into the oats and the mixture has become thick and bubbly, take it off.

Put it in a bowl, drizzle some honey or brown sugar on it and add milk. Eat while lovely and hot. Voila.

Daggy perhaps, but oh so delicious!

5 Responses to “Morning porridge”

  1. andrew May 2, 2011 at 6:56 am #

    It is 6.45 at Changi Airport and a bowl of that porridge would be good right now. So would a bed.

    love

    a

    • thehungrytravellers May 4, 2011 at 8:16 am #

      I’m sure you’ve now come across some good pho, Vietnamese baguettes and spring rolls that porridge isn’t too high on your list!

  2. Alan May 2, 2011 at 11:00 pm #

    As one dubbed by colleagues “oat boy” for daily porridge first thing at work, I like this post. Hardcore daggy points for same recipe but minus the cooking. Good in summer and just as tasty. Not to mention the use of oatmilk as a dairy substitute. (Challenge for me in China is getting good, local sultanas. Any suggestions?)

    • thehungrytravellers May 4, 2011 at 8:15 am #

      How “local” do you want your sultanas, “Oat Boy”? I use Xinjiang green ones – I really like the green ones and they mostly come from Xinjiang. Do you want ones from closer to Beijing?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Toasted muesli « thehungrytravellers - May 11, 2011

    […] It’s a meal I never skip and one I often go to bed thinking about. Yes, I’ve made that confession on this blog […]

Leave a Reply

